What I have learned since moving here

We have been living here for almost 3 months.  I can say that I am finally getting used to it.  I have decided there are things that I will always miss;  clothes dryer, dishwasher, trash pickup, and lots of selection at grocery store.  Of course I miss friends and family.  I miss the ability to go hang out with friends during the day.

Clothes Dryer:

Drying clothes currently is not hard because it is dry season but during rainy season you pray that your clothes do not get rained on.  You must get your clothes out on the line by 8 to have a chance for them to dry before the rain.  Then when you get the clothes off the line you have to pick at least 10 ants off every item.

Dishwasher:

Dishes well Josh and I both have always hated doing dishes.  We didn’t even like doing them with the dishwasher.  Here you have no choice and you have to make everything from scratch which equals more dishes.

Trash pickup:

There is no such thing.  You can’t just throw your food scraps and trash in the bucket and roll it out to the road.  Since we don’t have a dog we have to freeze all food scraps until we have a full trash bag and then take it to the dump.

Grocery Stores:

There is very limited items to pick from.  I didn’t like trying to figure out what to cook before but now it is even more difficult.  I am slowly learning Belizean dishes which makes it easier, but since the kids are not fans of rice and beans it makes it difficult.  There are no premade foods and dairy is very expensive.  So I have learned to make a lot, tortillas, chicken nuggets, goldfish, etc.  I really miss dairy milk, they have powdered here which is gross.

Things I Love:

walking down the street and feeling like being in the middle of no where.  It is just beautiful.

Watching Josh do a job he loves.  Josh could do anything because he is just a genius but he followed God’s path for his life and it is awesome.  All the money in the world can’t change that.

Worshipping with Belizeans.  They have a song they sing at Hattieville Baptist, that says “God is good, God is good, how can I let him down hes so good to me.”  I am so glad that we listened and came here.  It would have been a lot easier to stay in Holly Springs with my big house, money and friends but God had bigger plans for us.

Walking into church and being greeted by everyone.  The women here are so strong and know so much scripture.  I have so much to learn from them.

I can’t wait to see what God has in store for us.  Although there are things I miss, I wouldn’t take back our decision to move here.  I have learned so much and I know we have just started the journey of living here.

Leave a Reply

