More than we can handle

So I was listening to Pastor Perry Noble’s leadership podcast and he mentioned an often quoted Bible verse regarding facing challenges in our lives.

1 Corinthians 10:13 “…And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it”

Pastor Perry was saying that this verse is often misquoted by Christians when we say God only gives us as much as we can handle.  That is true ONLY IN REGARDS TO TEMPTATION.  That verse doesn’t say God will only give us as much work as we can handle or activities or life events.  I agree with Pastor Perry that this  misuse of Scripture is a lie straight from the pit of hell!

OF COURSE God gives us more than we can handle. Because if we only had as much as we can handle, we wouldn’t need God.  God gives us more than we can handle in our lives so we rely on HIM, so HE can show up, so HE can be our comfort, so HE can sustain us.

Now I am not getting into a discussion of why do good things happen to bad people and bad things happen to good people.  I am saying that when an opportunity presents itself that was unexpected or new altogether and challenging,  DON’T put your hope in “God only gives me as much as I can handle”..because then we are placing our hope in ourselves.  Rest in the fact that we can Trust in the Lord in all our way and lean not on our own understanding, or be still and know that he is God, or cast your burden upon the Lord and He will sustain.  God loves nothing more than to show out for His kids as they turn to Him and rely on Him for strength, guidance, understanding.

For example….

I had just got done leading the last team over Thanksgiving. I was in the Anchorage Hotel lying on my bed praying / napping to get prepared for our team’s closing meeting.  Thoughts (or dreams) of how I could invoke the emotion danced around in my head.  Then my phone rang….

Me: “Hello”

Amy: “I took a test”

Me: “What kind of test?  Why on Earth would you do that?”

Amy: “Because I went to bed at 6 last night and feel terrible!”

Me: “What kind of test did you take?”

Amy: “Pregnancy test you do-do”

Me: “Oh….And…..”

Amy: “Another kid sometime in July”

Me: <SILENCE>

Amy: “Hello…”

Me: “Well great! Look I gotta run. Bye bye for now.”

Stunned, speechless, surprised for sure.  I promptly texted Amy with all the “appropriate” questions.

  • Are you sure?
  • Did you take the test correct?
  • Did you read the directions?

God only gives me what I can handle…was my first thought.  But I realized after listening to the podcast He is giving  me more than I can handle so I can rely on HIM to handle it.

Since then Amy has felt nauseated and tired.  I have felt frustrated with taking care of the kids and house and Amy and just wanting my wife back.  But at the same time I have spent A LOT more time in prayer.  Prayers for the baby, prayers for Amy, prayers for Madeline and Jojo, and prayers that we as a family cast any anxiety on Him.  Because for sure this is MORE THAN WE can handle!

SO logistics update (primarily for you lady readers)– Amy is due sometime in July and is somewhere between 9 and 11 weeks.  Today we even saw the baby on the ultrasound and heard the heartbeat!!

So continue to pray for us.  Pray for the baby.  Pray for Amy.  Pray for me.  Pray that we as a family continue to rely on Him.  Most of all please pray that this child will be a mighty witness of the Gospel, that he or she would be full of great boldness for Jesus and covering that boldness would be a genuine and deep love for everyone!

As my good friend Andy and I would say to each other “Come back with a story”.  Well here we go and we will definitely be adding a big piece to our part in God’s story we are living out!

Thanks for praying!  Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

baby brother or sister

3 thoughts on “More than we can handle

  1. Oh my gosh! That is amazing!! I am so glad you addressed the “more than I can handle” issue because it’s misuse has been bothering me too! This story reminds me of when I decided to be a surrogate for a friend of mine. We hoped that 1 embryo (of 2 transferred) would stick and they would have a baby. Well, both embryos stuck and 1 of them split, so we had…TRIPLETS. My first thought was just that…”yup, this is more than I can handle!” But then I laughed because I knew that’s how God works and I was just going to have to trust Him. Well, in trusting Him, He was faithful, and He will be to you too. You’re in for a wild ride, I can only imagine, but you’ve got Him on your side, so no need to worry, right?? 🙂 Congrats!!!

  2. Well said! As someone is being “compelled to be humble” lately by my children…I also am having to rely more on Him. Blessings to your family!

  3. When I first read this I thought – “that’s true.” After this week, I now know that’s true and feel it down to my very core. Thanks for posting these reflections so I had time to process the sentiment before I had to put it into action in my own life.

Leave a Reply

