Simple Man!

How is God teaching me this week?

I love “Southern” rock-n-roll.  I mean I really do.  In fact in college, Andy (who’s birthday is today…Happy Birthday dude. I really love you!), made a “southern” rock-n-roll CD with Lynyrd Skynyrd, Marshall Tucker Band, Doobie Brothers, etc.  It became a Saturday afternoon tradition to open the windows of the apartment and blast that CD while we cleaned the apartment or house.  That eventually grew into driving around with that CD in the car and playing certain songs at the end of parties.  In fact, I love “Southern” rock (and the movie Dazed and Confused) so much that Amy and I had “Tuesday’s Gone” played as the last song at our wedding reception.

Anyway, one of my other favorite songs from Lynyrd Skynyrd is “Simple Man.”  The other day I was thinking about faith when I got an email from someone asking “how do I feel that science and religion can co-exist?”  It got me thinking about all the questions that I don’t know the answers to in my faith.

How did all those animals fit on the ark?

Were there dinosaurs on the ark?

What happened between the death on the cross and the resurrection?

Why did all those things happen to Job?

Will God really grant me EVERY prayer request?

What does life to the full mean?

Why do bad things happen to good people?

And on and on and on….Questions that I wrestle with from time to time.  But then I remembered the story of a simple man of simple faith.

In John 9: Jesus meets a blind beggar, blind from birth. Jesus makes mud out of his spit, rubs it on the man’s eyes, and he is healed.  The Pharisees see this beggar and they immediately question what has happened.  This man had an encounter with the Living God and his life totally changed.  He was nothing, a beggar, uneducated…but he has the most brillant response to the questions of the Pharisees. The Pharisees continued to press the beggar on what exactly happened to him and the former blind beggar’s response was always the same.

John 9:11  He answered,The man called Jesus made mud and anointed my eyes and said to me, ‘Go to Siloam and wash.’ So I went and washed and received my sight.

John 9:25 “Whether he is a sinner, I do not know.  One thing I do know that though I was blind, now I see.”

For the beggar, his faith was simple; his life was simple.  He was blind before he met Jesus.  He encountered Jesus.  His life is totally different.

For me that’s my faith.  The more we are here in Belize, .the more I read the Bible, the more I try to understand, the more I come back to the same conclusion.  Before I encountered the living God, I was just like the blind beggar (begging for fulfillment from this world).  I met Jesus, and now I am different.  Just like the beggar, Jesus changed my life forever!

Now I want to know the answers to all the questions that I don’t know…mostly because I am a nerd.  BUT that isn’t going to stop me from missing or losing what ultimately matters in my faith.  Just like the beggar I met Jesus and he changed my life forever.  And it is my story of life  change that will impact others around me….not my answers to questions.

I guess “Baby I’m a simple kind of man”

Prayer Requests – Personal

  • Praise – Jordin (our lifegroup baby-sitter from Holly Springs) has been visiting for the last week and a half.  We have had a FANTASTIC time with her.  Praise God for her love of our family!!!
  • Chigger Update – We are going 6 weeks for the chigger bites but itchiness seems to have died down. I think we have turned the corner!  Continue to pray for them to heal IMMEDIATELY
  • Sustain Amy – I am going to be on back to back trips for the next two weeks.  I am back for two days and then I am off to Minneapolis for a week.  Please pray for Amy and the kids during this time.  Pray for Amy to be sustained with energy and patience.
  • Financial Support Raising Update – Praise God.  He provided and exceeded the goal of 75% for the end of March.  We are currently at 76% pledged for this next year.  We are praying that we will be at 100% by the end of May.  Please join us in praying for this goal!
    • If you are interested in contributing financially to the ministry here in Belize, please visit http://www.prayingpelicanmissions.org/donate.  Scroll down to find “Josh and Amy Edmonds” and follow directions from there!

Prayer Requests – Belize

  • Staff Training – We have a Belize staff training starting on Friday.  Pray that this will be a great time of vision casting, equipping and preparation for our summer season!
  • Trips – I have two trips coming up.  Please pray for the teams, the leaders, the ministries.  Pray for Pastor Reyes and Pastor Brooks, the two pastors we are partnering with.  Pray ultimately that the teams are sensitive to the Holy Spirit and we are able to do all things to bring honor and glory to God.
  • Summer prep – We are in the last two months before things get REALLY busy with the summer.  Pray for ALL of our Praying Pelican staff as we prepare for the summer.

Amy and love you all!  Thank you for loving us!  Thank you for your prayers and friendships!  We want to encourage you to continue to strive for a greater understanding of our Lord but don’t lose the simplicity of your faith.  Maybe it’s better to be a SIMPLE KIND OF MAN! (or woman!)

To see our adventures with Jordin over the last week – look at the pics below!

Whole Family at VBS in San Ignacio

Whole Family at VBS in San Ignacio

Walking through the jungle at Altun Ha

Walking through the jungle at Altun Ha

Jojo and daddy walking around Altun Ha

Jojo and daddy walking around Altun Ha

Love my girls!

Love my girls!

Playing in the water

Playing in the water

party

We climbed the temples!

We climbed the temples!

Madeline and her friend at VBS at Lake I

Madeline and her friend at VBS at Lake I

Madeline at her b-day party

Madeline at her b-day party

Looking at Sting Rays

Looking at Sting Rays

looking at an interesting flower

looking at an interesting flower

Jojo and daddy climbing

Jojo and daddy climbing

Jojo hanging out supervising M's party

Jojo hanging out supervising M’s party

Mommy and Jojo

Mommy and Jojo

Family picture!

Family picture!

Leave a Reply

