Spirit of GREAT Expectations!

This morning I woke up, saw my wife beside me, Praise God, gave her a kiss and started my day.  Today started just like any other today, but almost yes almost it could have been very very different.

So yesterday I get “the call”…you know the call that you never want to get because there’s been an accident.  Amy had left to go take Madeline to school and was on her way to Belmopan for Bible study.  Jojo and I were hanging out and coloring, which usually involves Jojo eating A LOT of crayons. Then the phone rings.

Me: “Hello”
Amy: Help, I’ve been in an accident. I am hurt. Come fast”

This is where the story gets interesting.  You see we only had one car and Amy was 25 miles away from my house.  And I had Jojo.  So here were my thoughts in order.

Thought 1 – Amy’s alive – because she called me
Thought 2 – How is the baby….this resulted in another phone call to Amy that went something like “Are you in Labor? No?  Ok great!  Is the baby moving? Yes?  Great!  Moving like going into labor?  No?  Great!  Call you back.
Thought 3 – Baby is ok
Thought 4 – Get someone to Amy immediately
Thought 5 – Get a babysitter to the house immediately.
Thought 6 – Get Madeline from School and get to Amy

So I got on the phone and arranged all of these things.  Pastor Mark’s baby sitter came over, I jumped on her bike, biked 4 miles to get Madeline from school put her on the handle bars of the bike and road back (Side Note: Biking and Running take TOTALLY DIFFERENT MUSCLES).  With my legs like Jello, I introduced our baby sitter who I just met to Jojo and Madeline pointed her to the fridge and bedrooms and said good luck! (more on this later).

Burt picks me up and we are going to see Amy….(note: about every 2 seconds I am calling her to see what’s going on).  And we start out and get a flat. Seriously!!??!  You couldn’t make this stuff up.  We change the flat, patch the tire, and are off and running when Amy calls and says she is at the market in Hattieville.

So this is where I get to hear what happened.  Amy was traveling on the Western Highway, hit a particularly bad patch of road, hydroplaned, did 360’s into on coming traffic (Praise God no cars were coming) and then went off the side of the road, and then the truck proceeded to flip 4 – 5 times.  It ended up landing on the driver side.  Blood was pouring from Amy’s nose and head. Some people came to her aid immediately.  She unbuckled her seat belt, stepped down on the arm rest and climbed out of the car (all at 35 weeks pregnant!).  So she sat on the side of the road, a missionary friend came to get her and they raced to get me and us to the doctor).  Apparently, in the midst of the spinning and flipping, Amy was praying….and it wasn’t some prayer like “Dear Gracious God….” it was way more “OH GOD HELP NOW. GOD HELP.  HHHHHEEEEELLLLLPPPPP!”  Fortunately, God listens to all prayers….even when they are slightly expletive filled.

Anyway, I see Amy, she is alert, awake, alive.  And we go to the OB. He checks her out.  We get an immediate ultrasound and X-rays of her head (she is thinking that she has a broken nose).  After the end of it, it turns out the Baby (triple confirmed now it is a Boy….Elijah James!) is happy, healthy, normal.  No ill harm from the accident at all.  Amy has not a single broken bone, and really only one small scratch on her head (no stitches required).

So our day is finished with getting some good, going to rest in AC at the hotel we use for our base during the summer, and renting a car.  We came home to find out what happened with the kids.

Babysitting story – Well no kids took a nap (no big deal).  But I failed to mention to the babysitter where the diapers were.  They were under the sink.  AND we cloth diaper Jojo, so it isn’t intuitive to anyone much less to a Belizean baby sitter.  So we come home and really scratch our heads on what happened while we were gone especially with diapering and we see Jojo underwear in the diaper pail, a swim diaper, the towel out and bath water in the tub.  We also see poop all over the furniture.  Amy looks at me and says “Next time show them where the diapers are”.  I laugh and say sure!  We are lucky that I just didn’t open the fridge turn on the TV and leave them there alone!!

 
So we put the kids to bed then Amy and I look at each other and go to bed at 8:30 last night.  We woke up at 6:30 this morning and I was laying beside my wonderful…albeit sore wife.

Yesterday, could have changed my life.  I could be a single parent today.  Madeline, Jojo could have been without a mommy.  The gravity of the situation is not lost on me.  However, I am not going to mourn and be talking about what could have been.  Instead I am celebrating what is.  The Lord miraculously protected my wife.  Surrounded her with a pillow of angels!  And we are celebrating that!  Praise God for HIS protection.  It is going to take more than a scary car wreck to get us out of Belize!!  The Lord has GREATER plans here for us and we CAN”T WAIT to see what this summer brings!

Take a moment and thank GOD and CELEBRATE this miracle.  And join us in praying for the other miracles of LIFE CHANGE that the Lord is going to perform this summer in Belize!  We can’t wait to see Him move and share with you all!!  Praise GOD!
Front View of Car

Front View of Car

Notice how far Amy flipped from Road

Notice how far Amy flipped from Road

Front view

6 thoughts on “Spirit of GREAT Expectations!

  1. Ever so thankful that Amy & the baby are all right. It’s a miracle that they are ok. So much love to all of you. You’re in our prayers.

  2. Nothing makes poop on the furniture better than knowing your wife and unborn child are safe! Tell Amy I love her! I know there are moments of this message that are going to be a funny story later, but I basically cried through the whole thing thankful that my sister is okay!

Leave a Reply

