Now I lay me down to sleep…

“The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

– Matthew 25:40

This verse continues to drive me, almost haunts me.

Am I doing everything that we can here in Belize to reach out and love on the least of these?

Recently, Amy and I have started to pick up and take home one mom of one of the students in Madeline’s class.  She lives just as far as us and walks every day with her 2 week old and 13 month old.  I say this NOT to show you all “look at what we are doing” But for you to join us in praying for our hearts and minds to recognize these opportunities SOONER!

On to the title of this blog, everyone is familiar with the soft prayer:

Now I lay me down to sleep

 I pray the Lord my soul to keep….

Some of us say it to our own kids or kids we baby sit.  Some may even had it said to them by their own parents.  But here’s a question. Have you ever stopped to think about for a moment?  Where I am laying down this child?  For most of us, it’s a comfortable bed, where we rest peacefully at night.

It’s no news to anyone that many children all over the world don’t have a bed to call their own.  What may be news to some is that in Belize it is no different.  It is estimated that over 1/2 of the children in Belize have no bed to call their own.  Many sleep on a dirt floor covered with a light blanket.  The privileged ones sleep wrapped up in hammocks or on the egg-crate foam many of us had on our beds in college to make the SOFTER.

536803_10100944582885239_846056878_n

I was speaking to one of my good friends early this summer and he was getting ready to finish at the University.  At the same time, he needed to move out of where he was living and go back to live with family closer to the school.  I asked him (knowing how he grew up) where are you going to sleep?  He answered “back on the floor with a sheet.”  My heart broke and I realized what a luxury  a bed can be.

When Tony, Jeff, Bob and I were planning our mission trips to Belize through Praying Pelican Missions, we got the idea through consult with Pastor Henry in Sandhill to build bunk beds for every child in the village.

It was one of the largest blessings of my life to see the joy in the kids’ eyes as they looked at the team cutting, nailing, decorating, their bed….their bed.  For many of them the only response was laughter. For some of them, sharing everything they owned (clothes included) is just part of life.  Here they were getting something of their very own.

For the parents it meant finally getting time away from the kids, getting kids out of their bed (if they had one) and feeling safe and secure about where their kids were sleeping at night.

Off the floor

Away from the dirt, the scorpions, tarantulas, etc.

For 250 USD, we were able to build 1 bunk bed set complete with mattress, sheets, and pillows and bring a HUGE blessing of joy to a family.

Tony's wife, Kathy, and team member Justin delivering one of the 8 sets of Bunk beds.

Tony’s wife, Kathy, and team member Justin delivering one of the 8 sets of Bunk beds.

As Tony and Jeff continue to come back to Sandhill year after year, one day it is my prayer that every child in that village has a bed to call their own.  I desire the joy in that picture to be in every home in Sandhill.

I got to thinking, honestly, why does this only happen in Sandhill?  Why can’t we share this idea with our other teams?  Tony, Jeff and I have the supply list, the blue prints, and the estimate.

SO my prayer is this coming year that more of our teams adopt a village and make it their ambition to do for the least of these as if they were doing for the King of King, living out Matthew 25:40.

What if kids all over Belize were able lay their head down to sleep in their own bed?

Praises / Prayer Requests:

  • Get Away Weekend:  Amy and I (with Elijah) are heading to Placencia this weekend.  Pray that it is a great time for us to rest, refresh, rejuvenate.  Pray that Madeline and Jojo are well-behaved for Ms. Jen, our gracious babysitter
  • Upcoming Trip:  I am leading a trip starting next weekend.  The team has a very dynamic school ministry focused around “stop the violence”  I am super excited about the impact this could have on the older elementary school children.  Pray that the school ministry touches the students and changes lives.
  • Alone Time For Amy:  We are realizing that Amy needs some alone time (daily) and extended alone time (weekly).  Pray that we are creative in creating this time for her to rest and refresh.
  • Fundraising:  We are starting on the fundraising kick for 2014.  We will be contacting our monthly supporters about continuing next year and looking to on-board additional one time supporters.  Pray that God will pave our way and place us with men and women of generosity.

Thank you for your prayers.  Thank you for reading.  Thank you for loving and supporting us.  We are so blessed to have all of you in our life.  we look forward to sharing with you about Placencia when we return!  We pray you all have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

