What’s your dream?

Whew it’s been an AWESOME 2 weeks.  For those that were praying a sincere THANK YOU!  Your prayers powered us through some intense spiritual warfare immediately before I led Mt. Bethel.  And then Amy and Michelle went on a trip with a women’s team from Hope Community Church to Armenia, so I was at home “babysitting” the kids.

Note: I told everyone that it wasn’t babysitting because it was my own kids….then it’s called parenting!

Now I am sitting in the Belize Airport banging this blog post out before hopping a plane to Ft Lauderdale for our staff meetings!

Remember our schedule from the last post?

  • April 4 – 10 – Lead 40 of the most amazing students and adults from Mt Bethel on a trip to Western Belize – FINISHED
  • April 11 – 18 – Amy helps lead a Hope For Belize – Women’s trip to Armenia and I am HOME ALONE – AHHHH – FINISHED
  • April 19 – 27 – Fly to Miami for our Spring Staff Meetings – IN PROGRESS
  • April 28 – May 1st – Prepare for a 40 person SURGICAL TEAM serving in Northern Belize the first full-week in May!

God is on the move. Some Updates:

  • Mt Bethel – Was another awesome week.  We were fortunate enough to continue a relationship that started last year as a new set of students and leaders were able to serve with Kebin Rosa and his ministry team.  The Lord was present in everything that we did.  Whether it was building bunk beds (7 sets) or delivering groceries (enough for 20 families) or children’s ministry, Jesus was in it!  Pastor Melgar preached Easter Sunday Jesus is HERE.  All week it was evident that Jesus was THERE WITH US!  While I was sad to see my friends from Mt Bethel go, it was AWESOME to tell them that I WILL SEE THEM THIS FALL!!! – Thank you for praying!
  • Parenting with the kids – WAS INCREDIBLE.  After the weeks of spiritual warfare and extreme busyness of work, it was so refreshing to REST and PLAY with the kids.  We did all the necessary parenting stuff like baths and school and homework.  But we got to do fun stuff too like ice-cream after the grocery store and pop corn and milkshake for dinner 2 nights!  We are so blessed with the most amazing children on earth.  They are crazy and trying at times but the focused time with them was just what I needed to rest, reset and refresh.  – Thank you for praying
  • Women’s trip – Amy and I will have to put together a separate blog post about everything that she had learned / experienced on the trip.  It was awesome and in the same manner that staying home with the kids was relaxing and refreshing for me, serving in Armenia did that for Amy.  It helped show her awesomeness in Belize AND allowed her to start critically thinking and processing what integrating back into the US will be like! – Thank you for praying!

Spring Complete

Our spring trips have wound down and we are in the transition from spring trips to prep for summer teams.  I thought it would be nice to reflect and CELEBRATE all the Lord has done from January – April.  A look at Belize by the numbers:

  • 484 participants
  • 24 groups
  • 30 unique partnerships representing churches, schools, mercy ministries in 4 of the 6 districts
  • 40 bunk bed sets built for kids who don’t have beds
  • 170 families receiving a weeks worth of groceries
  • 10 community gardens constructed
  • 5 chicken coops built
  • 3 church feeding programs started
  • 2 medical clinics
  • 1 surgical team
  • Over 4000 kids ministered to, hearing the Gospel of Jesus on THEIR LEVEL
  • 7 people HEALED
  • Over 30 people Baptized
  • Over 15 people made decisions to give their lives to the Lord
  • Over 25 Belizeans sent OUT to Guatemala on mission trips to serve with PPM

Revival is happening.  The Lord is redeeming Belize for His purpose to be a light to the nations.  God is moving mightily and we have the privilege to be on the front lines!  Take a moment and praise God for all that He has done and is doing in Belize. And let’s petition God expectantly for all He WILL DO this summer!  God is up to something big. I can’t wait to share it all with you!!

As I start to consider the summer and especially since I am heading to our spring staff meetings, I was challenged with “What’s my dream for the summer?”  What do I want to see the Lord do this summer?  What is my “sun-stand still” type prayer?  Based on that, I wrote the email below to our staff serving in Belize this summer.  I wanted to share here because I think it’s applicable to everyone not just our staff.  What’s your dream?  What do you want to see God do in your own life?  Take hold.  Ask boldly and watch him show up and show off!  Stop doubting and Believe!

………

I LOVE Dr Seuss…seriously love.  I could probably recite One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish, Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham and most of Fox in Sox.  I love everything about his books…the stories, the illustrations but most of all I love that he allowed me and allows kids now the ability to dream.  His books create some fantasy land where it’s ok to dream big things, even if they don’t make any sense.

I am currently reading a book about Dead CEOs and I just finished the chapter on Disney this morning.  His life was built around allowing people the opportunity for fantasy to risk so much that they may fail only in the world of disney you didn’t fail.  Fantasy.
We all know life is real.  Real life happens all around us and all the time.  My last blog post spoke to as much.  The challenges, stresses and warfare of real life.  My guess is as we sit on the cusp of Praying Pelican Missions Spring Staff Meetings spiritual warfare is going in and around you.  I know it is here.
But if you take a moment, step back, get quiet and then get intimate with God, what’s He saying?  Have you dreamed with God? Have you dreamed about this summer as you are serving in Belize what it would look like?  Have you dreamed about how He would speak to you? Use you? Move in you?  Move through you?  Have you dreamed about chains broken, freedom felt, weights lifted?  Have you dreamed about how you want to be changed?  How you will be changed?
Dream big things!  Because when we dream big things for God it’s like dreaming in Disney if we are pursuing Him and His will. He will show up!  That’s what He does!
As Easter closes I like to look at all the appearances of Jesus to His disciples.  The one besides Peter that I love the most is Thomas.  Oh Thomas with the bad wrap, doubting Thomas.  He says “if I could just see the nail marks, put my hand in his side…then I would believe”
In dreaming for the summer, I get Thomas.  I am analytically positioned by nature.  I want everything to make sense, so my dreams follow that philosophy.  I want to dream BIG for the Lord but I calculate the probability and step it back.
That’s what Thomas was doing.  I feel like Thomas WANTED to believe he just couldn’t wrap his head around it. His dream was too big, too grand, too risky.
Jesus shows up and proves that it is HE the RISEN LORD.  Thomas gets his proof but then Jesus says to Thomas “Stop Doubting and Believe.” Some people take this as a rebuke but I think it was an invitation.  Jesus was saying to Thomas stop doubting me and start believing in me and what WE can do together.
As you think about your life, your dream for this summer, for God to move in you and through you, what if we accepted Jesus’ invitation and stop doubting and started believing.  Believe He can do anything.  Believe He will show up and show off. Believe that we are in revival!  Stop Doubting and Believe!
So my question as we get ready to see each other in a few days.  If you stop doubting and start believing…..
what’s your dream?
I look forward to seeing God meet and exceed your wildest dreams this summer!

 

Our staff team (minus Lorelee, Abidias) two of the 4 people in this picture have pooped in a bag and left it for someone else to find.

Our staff team (minus Lorelee, Abidias) two of the 4 people in this picture have pooped in a bag and left it for someone else to find.

My favorites!  No other words.  Mt. Bethel you are loved, you are missed. see you soon.

My favorites! No other words. Mt. Bethel you are loved, you are missed. see you soon.

The glory of the Lord was all around us during the week.  Here he was showing us His Glory in the sunset

The glory of the Lord was all around us during the week. Here he was showing us His Glory in the sunset

It's not Mt Bethel without an Eno afternoon

It’s not Mt Bethel without an Eno afternoon

One of the Mt Bethel students became the VBS craft for the day.

One of the Mt Bethel students became the VBS craft for the day.

This family just moved from Guatemala with nothing.  They are living in a borrowed home.  We spent two days with them.  The joy of the whole family was contagious!

This family just moved from Guatemala with nothing. They are living in a borrowed home. We spent two days with them. The joy of the whole family was contagious!

Leave a Reply

